mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Hitch rack recommendation for Prius

Hi guys (and gals),

This is my first time posting here. I'm looking for a hitch mount rack for my 2007 Prius to hold both my Specialized Stumpjumper FSR and my Specialized Tarmac carbon fiber bikes. I think I've got choice overload, because there are so many options to choose from. I like the idea of the tray style holder (such as the Thule T2) but they are pretty heavy and bulky and I would like something that I could take on and off and store easily. Another option is the hanging style rack (such as the Thule Helium 3), but that also has disadvantages, since I would also need to use it with the bike adapter bar to accommodate the geometry of my two bikes. Can anybody make a suggestion what might be the best rack for my case? Thanks so much in advance for your help.

Ben

ballbuster
    1UpUSA Quick Rack.

1UPUSA.com :: Quik Rack Aluminum

*end thread*

mtbr member
    I have a saris Freedom 2.
    2009 ASPECT 20
    2011 Rockhopper 29er

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    Thanks for the recommendations. I ended up deciding on the 1up system. I bought the single bike quick rack with the add on. I like the fact that the single bike system is pretty light weight and collapsible, so it can be taken off and stored quite easily. It's not exactly cheap, but I think it will be worth the extra cost. Now I have the fun job of ordering and installing a hitch on my Prius.

mtbr member
    I have a 2012 Camry Hybrid and I recently installed a hitch on it for carrying my bikes. Word of advice: Pay someone else to do it. It is such a PITA that I would never attempt to do this again ever in my lifetime. I was able to do it but it involved dropping the exhaust, cutting holes in the frame rails of my car and a lot of crawling around on the floor of my garage not to mention lifting and fiddling with this big heavy hunk of steel.