mtbr member
    Sep 2009

CRV to Honda Fit

I have been driving a Honda CRV since 1999, hit 250,000 miles and decided its time to get another vehicle.

In the CRV - I drop the seat on the mountain bike, remove the front wheel and then roll the bike rear wheel first into the back, I have an oak 2X6 cut to handlebar width to which I mounted a front fork retainer that you use in pickups. I clip the forks into the retainer and then place the front wheel parrellel against the bars , resting on the oak, and bungee the wheel to the bars. The bike rides vertical in the CRV with room on both sides for all my car camping stuff.

I work a great a job that allows me to drive to different states for two weeks or more at a time each month and I take the bike to every location. The issue has become gas mileage and $$$$$ wasted on gas.

I test drove 7 different medium SUVs, small SUVs, and station wagons, before I tried the Honda Fit. Gas mileage was always in the mid to high 20's for the SUVs and station wagons but for the Fit it is in the mid to upper 30's

The bike actually fits better in the Fit than in the CRV and I can still carry all my car camping stuff along both sides of the bike. Loaded at 75 mph on cruze I am getting 34 to 35 mpg! The best the CRV ever got was 27mpg on cruze at 70 mph.

The only draw back is the front ground effects air dam is really low so a bad dirt road has to be driven very slowly.

ZIT30/34

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Good to know. I'm about to get a new car and the fit is at the top of my list. It does 2 of the 3 i want, it's cheap and fits a bike well, just a little boring to drive though?

I'd get a manual trans for sure. Is yours?

mtbr member
    What about looking at a Golf or Jetta Wagon TDI? On the highway once broken in you may get near what some report, around 50 mpg. Both cost a lot more than the Fit of course.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Vortechcoupe