mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Bike Rack Ticket!

My wife got a $230 ticket yesterday in Surrey for driving with a rear bike rack on her car. Chief Wiggum told her it was obstructing the license plate. He told her that it was fine as long as there was a bike on it (police wisdom at its finest...), but she was to take it off when she was not carrying a bike.

I have been driving with a bike rack on my car in BC since 2004 and have never had an issue. Quotas? Likely, and so why not target working mothers because the real criminals don't have any reliable income.

Has anyone ever contested this asinine law in court? If it actually is a problem in BC, then why not target the bike rack manufacturers?

mtbr member
    In my experience in the U.S. if you don't have a lawyer don't bother contesting it. I fought a ticket on a fail to stop one time and the State trooper lied and lied. He actually had the nerve to say I admitted to running it when he pulled me over. I had told him he had the wrong person. In court I made a fool of him. He admitted he had lost sight of the car, he wrote the wrong color car on the ticket. To any reasonable person it was clear he was full of it. But guess what in the end I'm found guilty, I nearly fell out of my chair! So my opinion is if you can afford to have your own lawyer then fight it. Otherwise pay it and complain about it for years later...
    When you've seen someone rupture their scrotum on a bike you won't take the standards for top tube clearance lightly!

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Bummer about the ticket, but the cop is likely right in that it's illegal to block the license plate of your car. Decent chance it is still illegal with a bike on the rack but the cops give people a pass because there are limited options for transporting a bike. I really don't think it is an asinine law to say you can't block the plate, so I doubt you would have much luck in court. This is probably just a live and learn kind of situation.

Your Best Friend