mtbr member

Best way to carry my bike

This is my first post, I'm normally more of a lurker ☺️

I I have the Yakima trunk carrier (3 bike size) and on my Altima coupe this worked great. I've now traded in my car for a 2014 Accord coupe, and I'm having issues. The paint is wearing on top of the trunk and I have a chip on the bumper. Since my car is only a little over 2 months old, I'm rather frustrated to already be having to get the paint worked on. I am fairly new to bikes, I bought a road bike in May, and a trek fuel about 3 wks ago. I'm not sure if the problem stems from the increased weight, frequency( I really really like the trails), or the different car (bought it late sept).

Either way, what are the recommendations for carrying my bike without hurting my car either? - Dianna

mtbr member

Use a hitch mounted rack.

mtbr member
    Any particular one?

mtbr member

I think that you will have to find one that meets your needs. The hitch mounted rack will keep everything off the actual body of the car.

Something like this...

mtbr member
    Sep 2014

Rogue Exterminator
    Best solution is a hitch and hitch rack the holds the bike from under the wheels like that Yakima. I Like the KŁat racks myself. There are also cheaper versions if money is an issue. For the accord, the biggest hic you will be able to get is 1.25" so get a rack that will fit that. Later if you get a truck, you can get an adapter that works for it.
    Just stick it in granny and start grinding.

mtbr member
    May 2014
    The hitch route is a good one if you can. We have a Saris Bones trunk rack that is decent. People will say that if you make sure the car stays clean the paint will be fine, but I like to take my bike to dirty places so I find it difficult to do.

My favorite route is to toss it into the trunk. Fold your seats down and remove the front wheel and pedals (maybe seat post depending on car/bike), and I bet it'll go right in. Once you get it down it's pretty quick.