mtbr member
    Jul 2007

What is better for Headshok, lockout, or normal?

Hi all,

First of all, let me say i am new to the Cannondale family.

At first I never beleived all the hype behind this, and considered cannondales a rich mans bike that has similar performance to all others.

Then I picked up a F4, put some of my better then stock parts in, and I have to say, I am very pleased with the geomety so far, by far the best I've tried.

Now to the thing bugging me the most: headshok, from a durability point of view, is it better to put it locked on long hills or flats, or to leave it open ?

Do you have any special tips on how to make it last as long as it can? (I am not to fond of paying others service my bike, and this is the only piece not selfservicable).

Thanks.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    The lockout is there to be ridden. That said, repeated, long exposure to significantly bumpy riding, will cause the shim stack that creates the lockout out, to deform. Use the lockout when needed, but turn it off for the rough stuff at speed.

Keep an eye on your boot. Any tears, get it replaced immediately. Other than that, a once a year servicing by someone who knows what they're doing, will keep it running smoothly
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Thanks MCS.

mtbr member
    hey mendon cycle smith.

i've got a lefty and is it normal to have a tiny tiny bit of play in the fork when locked out or is it supposed to be like a fully ridged fork when locked out?

i had the cannondale guys at one of the nationals "re-set" the air valve so i could use a shock pump with out an adaptor on it to get air in the fork and while he was working on the fork he said he re-set the bearings ???? and lubed the fork heck the bike is only 7 months old so Ok didn't cost me anything other than a sixer of PBR and $20 for his time.