mtbr member
    Oct 2005

New question here. What is it about Lefty sales on eBay?

Greetings,

I'm new to Cannondale, having just bought a 2004 Jekyll 1000 off of eBay over the summer. After adjusting the suspension to my size and riding style, I've been ecstatic with the bike, including the Lefty fork. I've also added a couple of XTR components, longer seat post, etc., by buying some used parts from eBay.

One thing that I've noticed on eBay that has me more than a little curious is just how many people are selling (and buying) Lefty forks. The volume of Lefty traffic there seems to be disproportionately high to me compared against other components, Cannondale and otherwise.

Anyone know why that is? Are lots of riders replacing their Lefties for traditional dual-tube forks? Are lots of Lefties failing and needing to be replaced and/or overhauled?

I hope that I don't have to replace my Jekyll's Lefty any time soon, as they seem to command a pretty steep price on eBay...

The Jekyll rocks, by the way. It's my first full suspension ride (since I raced motocross motorcycles many years ago during college) and I'm really loving it. Hardly a day goes by that I'm not out on it for at least 10-15 miles on the hilly trails near my house.

Cheers,

Ken

discombobulated SuperModerator
    Jun 2005
    Not that i am an expert (I too just started) but it seems to me to be 'older' Lefty's 100mm etc etc. I was thinking the same thing , perhaps it is riders looking to sell something older to move up to something new...I also noticed one or two sellers that seem to part out whole bikes 'used one season'....
    T

Dr Gadget is IN
    Speaking as a buyer - I notice that there are a fair number of "take-offs", basically brand new stuff. I bet it is the "eeewwww, it looks wierd" problem there. As for the used ones, maybe the same.