Thread: Upgrades

mtbr member
    May 2016

Upgrades

Hello everyone.
    I'm new to the mountain biking game and am looking for some input. I picked up a 2016 catalyst 2. I got it from a guy that rode it twice so it's basically a brand new bike and I have $350 in it. First off he put some specialized flat barsbars on it and changed the stem. I like the length of the stem but would still like to upgrade it to a better product. I'm not fond of having specialized bats on a Cannondale. So I'm wondering what is a good stem and bar set up for a beginner. The flat bar is fine with me but there may be a better option not sure. Next he had removed the pedals to put on another bike he had. I had a new set of plastics I was going to put on an old '50s Murray Monterey that I threw on there to get going. I know I want platform pedals as I don't like the idea of the clip less ones. And last would be the tires. Looking at wtb trail boss or continental trail king. Thanks in advance for any help. I attaches a pic of the bike Upgrades-20160527_191015.jpg

mtbr member
    Just ride it and get used to it before you dump a lot of money into it. If you need to change out stuff due to fit issues then do that, but don't do it for the sake of changing it. Would just be wasted money imo. I would think about clipless for they make things better when riding, especially climbing.
    '12 Flash 29r C3 with a few mods
    '10 Synapse 5 Carbon with a few mods as well..

Dirty triathlete
    May 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by Flash29r View Post
    Just ride it and get used to it before you dump a lot of money into it. If you need to change out stuff due to fit issues then do that, but don't do it for the sake of changing it.
    Agree

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    What type of terrain do you do most of riding on? This might influence tire choice.
    Another vote for clipless pedals. Other upgrades can wait until you get more comfortable.

mtbr member
    May 2016