ceteris paribus

Upgrade Components or Brand new?

I bought a 1997 Cdale 700, about 6 months ago, when I started riding. I ride mostly Cross Country, and I'm interested in having the best uphill preformance, Im not so interested in downhill.About a month ago I replaced the frame for a 2003 CAAD4 hardtail.

But now I've been facing two choices,
    1 to upgrade all the components to deore xt, mavic wheels and a lefty fork (invest around 1500$ during the next year).

Or just to buy a new bike (for about the same 1500$ + whatever I get for my present bike, about a year from now).

Also, should I go for the lefty, or consider the much cheaper Headshock Ultra, or another brand?
    Last edited by xctico; 03-24-2004 at 03:45 PM.

Are you talking to me?

Fairly open question.

Quote Originally Posted by xctico
    I bought a 1997 Cdale 700, about 6 months ago, when I started riding. I ride mostly Cross Country, and I'm interested in having the best uphill preformance, Im not so interested in downhill.About a month ago I replaced the frame for a 2003 CAAD4 hardtail.

1 to upgrade all the components to deore xt, mavic wheels and a lefty fork (invest around 1500$ during the next year).

Or just to buy a new bike (for about the same 1500$ + whatever I get for my present bike, about a year from now).

Also, should I go for the lefty, or consider the much cheaper Headshock Ultra, or another brand?
    How old are the components on it now? To be honest, it really depends on you. You can buy a lot of bike for that kind of $, especially if you are sticking with a HT. However, If you do the upgrades, you will have the bike set up EXACTLY how you want it. Tough call.

I love my Lefty's, but they are very spendy aftermarket. Do not forget, you have to build a new front wheel. You may be able to get a Lefty/Wheel combo used for a good deal. Good luck.
    gfy

jcw
    Ride your bicycle(s)!
    Quote Originally Posted by xctico