Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Trigger 29er 1...Kind of

Posted this over in the 29er section but figured it belonged over here also:

Finally finished my build of my Cannondale Trigger 1 that I swapped the bike over to XX1 with XO Trail brakes, put some proper trail wheels with some very sweet Michelin tubeless tires, Reverb post and some Syntace Vector bars. So not to much of this bike is left from the original except the XL frame and bada$$ Lefty MAX fork. As it sits it is 28 lbs so figure a touch over 29 lbs with my pedals.

Very excited to get this out on the trails and see what the bike and components are like. I have been riding a Rumblefish Pro for the past 3+ years in combination with my single speeds so certainly intrigued to see how it stacks up against the RF as a rugged trail bike. Also looking forward to taking less heat from my friends that I ride and race with from Cannondale for not riding the local company!

Put the XX1 on it to see what all of the hubbub is about and needed to put some XO Trail brakes to keep it all matchy. I am sure the drivetrain will be great but do have concerns with braking since I have been riding latest generation the XT/ XTR and they set the bar very, very high.

I will be using this bike for typical trail rides and hope to dabble in some enduro racing on it this upcoming season. Based upon ride quality and over all speed of the bike maybe even use it in technical XC races like the Bearscat 50 down in New Jersey.

If the trails melt a bit or firm up for the weekend then I am hoping to put it through its paces and dial in the suspension. If I do I will certainly get a proper ride report written up.

If you are local to southern CT and want to stop by and take a look at this beast it is sitting on the floor at Bethel Cycle in Bethel CT. If you are bigger guy or gal and ride an XL frame then you might be able to sweet talk me into taking it for a spin.