Thread: Tires

mtbr member

Tires

Ok so I am new to the sport..I have a stock Rush..just posted my first pic of the bike (see post a pic thread).

I am inpressed with the bike, much better than wifes trk 4300 or my old HR, but I am getting flats like crazy.

I want/need new tires. I am not try to spend over $125 for 2 tires. I am getting flats from like thorns from bushes and briars.

Suggestions please.

I want to keep tubes.

thanks

mtbr member
    May 2007
    If you have ust rims, use ust tires with a little stans sealant. Or, you can use tubeless ready with sealant like Spec 2Bliss tires.

With regular rims you can get Spec Armadillo type tires. The armadillo version is availible in many of Spec tires.
    Lead by my Lefty............... right down the trail, no brakes.

got the dhr...
    you could try slime.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    That's right, they make a slime tube that may work for you.
    Lead by my Lefty............... right down the trail, no brakes.

mtbr member
    "I want to keep tubes."

I've been using Stan's in regular tubes on some of our bikes. Since the valve cores aren't removable, I cut a tiny hole in the tube, inject a few ounces of Stan's Sealant, then patch the tube (in theory it would patch itself, just being thorough).

Seems kinda weird to willfully poke a hole in a perfectly good tube, but it's worked great so far (except in one case where I used an old patch kit, and the glue was no good and patch failed)

(I posted about this in the Tires MTBR forum a while back, and there's a bunch of other info there on the subject)
    '05 Prophet 1000
    '09 F3
    '93 Delta V 700
    '08 F6 Lefty (son's)
    '08 F6 (daughter's)

mtbr member
    thanks guys..this was a great first post/response.

mtbr member