mtbr member

Super V creaking issue...

Hey every one, i recently inherited a Super V700 from my grandpa, and have been riding it every day (training for my schools bike team). Recently its been starting to creak when ever i go up hill, sprint, or just pedal hard in general. I know its bad, and i've read stuff on here about forks creaking and such, but i'm not 100% sure its the fork. At times, it almost sounds like the bottom bracket or the frame. I'm currently searching for a new fork (head shocks don't cut it in rock gardens) so if thats the problem, it will soon be fixed. Has any one else had this problem with a V? any help would be appreciated. thanks.

mtbr member
    I'm no expert, but it sounds like something in the cranks/bottom bracket area.

Also sounds like you want more travel. Have you thought about going full out Uber V? I'm in the process of building my 400 into an Uber.

Post your UBER V !!!!!!!!!!!

mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Bb

i think its the bottom bracket that needs tightening, happened several times on my old sv700, give that a go and you may have a fix

mtbr member
    Thanks for the help. Definitely going to tighten my bottom bracket. I have also been thinking about going uber for a while too, the only thing i'm confused about is where to drill for the swing arm, or if i even need to drill at all. I suppose i should look for a swing arm first though.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I had a noise like that once on my Jekyll. Turned out to be the rear skewer. Start with the easy stuff first.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by evo233
    Thanks for the help. Definitely going to tighten my bottom bracket. I have also been thinking about going uber for a while too, the only thing i'm confused about is where to drill for the swing arm, or if i even need to drill at all. I suppose i should look for a swing arm first though.