mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Stem upgrade for lefty?

Hi. I'm new to cannondale and lefty world. I recently got a 2011 flash 2 29er aluminum. I'm looking to do some upgrades in the coming months. I'd like to get a better/lighter stem but there doesn't seem to be many options. Looking on this forum I've seen a few bikes with ritcheys. Are these left compatible or are they modified somehow? Open to any suggestions of other brands or options. Thank you.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Define upgrade ?

If it is weight gain you are after, will cost $$$ for a marginal saving.
    OPI stem weighs 240-ish grams.

A lightweight steerer +/- 85 gr +/- 215 USD, then a lightweight stem 110 gr fill in the $$$

If you want to go lower, Dale has just released an OPI with -15 will be a lot cheaper.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    So it seems like money would be better spent on bars or seat post to try and shave a little weight.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    If you have Kenda small block, not much can be gained there. Depending on your riding area maybe 50 gr switching to lighter tyres but will be felt immediately and not to expensive.

If you are still with inner tubes, change to tubeless setup, even ghetto style with a good light tube to start with some interesting gains could be achieved where the benefit is immediate.

Best gain is always, rolling setup first.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    I have the same bike. Size medium. Mine weighed 25.6 lbs out of the box. The wheels are super heavy at over 2000 grams. You can get a set of Stans Crest with ztr rear hub and lefty front. You can find them online for around $500. That will save you about 500 grams which is a litttle over a pound.
    My build with pedals weighs 22.4 lbs including computer mounts and sensors...... race ready at the line. Not like some people who weigh theirs without pedals or bottle cages or computers.
    My parts list:
    DT Swiss 240 hubs laced to Stans 355 rims
    Easton EC70 carbon bars
    ESI chunky grips