mtbr member
    Sep 2006

Scalpel vs. Rush

I'm new to Cannondale. I've never ridden one of their mountain bikes (except around the parking lot). I'm looking for a new XC race machine for next year and Cannondale is tops on the list. I've heard a lot of good things about each bike, but I'm still not sure which way to go. I'm leaning towards the Scalpel, but the new suspension design has me a little apprehensive. In all likelihood, it's probably an improvement. The Rush is advertised as their "marathon" racer. I'm an avid racer. I've raced 2 full seasons, and I'd like to ultimately move out of Sport and into Expert. I was wondering if anyone could give me some extra insight that the website does not. Since I have not ridden a new Scalpel, and I have not trail ridden a Rush, I'm interested in opinions. Most of the races I'll do are the 90 minute Sport XC races... but occasionally I'll dabble in some 5, 12, and 18 hour races. Perhaps the year after next I'll try some 24 solo stuff... but I maybe not. Depends on how 12 and 18 hours feel. Longest race I've done thus far is a couple 5 hour "Enduros".

Give me some opinions on these two bikes please...

mtbr member
    Nov 2006

It depends on skill level

I have on 05 Scalpel and 06 Rush. They are both about as light as they can get. In general I am much faster on the Rush because of the more laid back position and lower BB and overall lower CG. If I am riding on fire trails or something I am faster on my Scapel, but on hilly rocky, technical stuff I am much more timid and have wrecked more on my Scapel. If your skills are up tot he Scalpel then it will likely be better, if not the the Rush is a safer bet.

Good luck

mtbr member
    Mar 2005