mtbr member

New question here. Scalpel 900, Scalepl 2000 or Jekyll 2000

Howdy folks.

I'm a relative newcommer to mountain biking. I've been riding for the last 8 months with a Cannondale F300. I live in Brazil, where my main objetive is to participate in long duration XC races. My main objetive of the year will be to participate in Iron Biker, a 2 day event totalling 100km of trails with lots of steep 2km long hills and very fast descents. Other events include 70km and 100km rides.

I've been quite happy with my F300, which in Brazil is considered a very good bike, however, as you can all imagine, its quite heavy and perhaps not suitable for the long duration races that I will be taking part in.

After doing a little "research", I figured that perhaps the best bike for my necessity would be the Scalpel - due to the fact its a very light FS bike, since its a soft tail. HOWEVER, when checking prices and features of the Scalpel 900, 2000 and the Jekyll 2000, there is absolutely NO INFO what-so-ever on the WEIGHT of these bikes, which I found quite ridiculous, since you can practically buy a car for the price Cannondale asks for these bikes.

Does anyone know what the stock weight is for these bikes? Also, how much heavier is the Jekyll compared to the Scalpel, and how well does it climb compared to it? What do you guys recomment for very long duration races, and as an overall trail bike for my needs?

Sorry for the long post, thanks for the help!

Are you talking to me?

I can help.

Quote Originally Posted by IronBiker
    Howdy folks.

I'm a relative newcommer to mountain biking. I've been riding for the last 8 months with a Cannondale F300. I live in Brazil, where my main objetive is to participate in long duration XC races. My main objetive of the year will be to participate in Iron Biker, a 2 day event totalling 100km of trails with lots of steep 2km long hills and very fast descents. Other events include 70km and 100km rides.