mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Rush vs. Prophet as a trail pig review here..

After owning both bike's and putting in some miles on the same trails, I thought it was time to post a comparison for those on the fence looking for a trail bike. The Rush is not just for smooth XC. I ride in nasty northeast trails. Rocks and roots abound. I've been riding for 20 years.

The Prophet I had was set up to perfection. Lefty max with the tpc/ti.

The Rush is fitted with an SL carbon and lots of nice stuff. I'm running 2.3 spiders with stans which brings the BB up to 13inches. XT cranks. Thomson post. 90mm SI stem. Foam grips. Avid ultimates. etc...

Flats: The Rush kills the Prophet here. Even if the trail is nasty, with rocks everwhere. If you make a mistake, the Prophet will be more forgiving. The Rush is like a needle. Rather than jumping off rocks I used to launch off, I just weave around them at mach 10. It's it as much fun as jumping? Yeah. This thing turns like it's on rails. 13in BB is plenty.

Rolling hills: Rush again. The momentum I can carry on this thing is king. So fast. So flowy. The 2.3 tires with stans conform to every nook and cranny. I have yet to bottom the thing out.

Climbing: Rush. Lock out the fork and look out. I'm running a 1x8 with a 26t granny in the front. I just fly up tech climbs I used to mope up on the Prophet.

DH: Prophet here. The Prophet was like a circa 1992 dh race rig. It just flew on the dh. Sick.

So in closing, if I had to do it all over and choose one bike. It would be the Rush. I do miss the Prophet now and then but I can only own one bike $.

mtbr member
    My point exactly.
    The Rush will be better 80% of the time.
    The prophet will be better for only for real technical and fast, steep downhills (And, of course, for jumps/ drops and such).
    Also, for the AVARAGE rider, the rush is more than enough. I clear stuff with the rush my friends won't clear with their Hecklers, and then get back to the car with more ease.