Moven on
    Sep 2007

Ridding it in DH position

I mostly ride XC and rough roads with my Prophet. I got this bike in a very good trade, it's more bike then my abilities but maybe someday. I have been riding it in the XC position for about two months now, and decided to try it in DH position today. I rely liked the fill of being further back on the bike. It felt easier to lift the front tire up for obstacles, and it seemed to carve better in the corners.

Will riding it in DH all the time cause any wear problums

I was thinking about a shorter stem and more set back in the seat post, but changing the geometry cost me nothing and fixed most of my issues. I hope its OK.
    You got to ride um hard & put um away wet!!!

LA CHÈVRE
    It has a XC setting and a FR setting, if you mean FR, no problems, many leave it that way all the time... if you really mean DH setting, did you drilled a third set of holes?

DAN.GEROUS.NET : MOUNTAIN BIKING : CYCLOCROSS : ROAD :

mtbr member
    the FR setting effect climbing at all?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan1104
    the FR setting effect climbing at all?
    A little bit. The front end wants to pop up a little easier up steep stuff than in the xc setting. I haven't noticed any difference in pedalling efficiency though.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    Riding it in the FR setting should not hurt anything! But I believe it lowers the bottom bracket height about one inch- which could mean crank/pedal collisions with obstacles a little easier. I just got a prophet frame and am currently building the bike, so I have been researching them a little bit- but at this time I am just spreading 2nd hand info.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Gerous
    did you drilled a third set of holes?
    Hell, I hadn't thought of that! A bit of grinding and welding might be required and the XC position may have to disapear all together but I'll give it a go when I get home tonight.