Thread: Racin' a Rush

mtbr member
    Jan 2007

Racin' a Rush

I've been reading the posts regarding the Rush, particularly the opinions on whether or not you could race XC w/it (reasonably well.) I'm not necessarily talking about marathon races.

Seems like there's a set camp that thinks it for pure endurance events but the more I read, the more it seems like folks are actually racing it XC. So what's what?

I'm new to the mtn scene. I'm really looking to race and place, but I can only do 1 bike right now. I had been looking at the scalpel for a while but kind of wanted something a bit more versatile.

That said, I was leaning toward the Scalpel 2, the Rush Carbon 2, or maybe last year's Rush 2000 (basically an XT/XTR setup w/a good set of wheels.) Were the criticisms against the Rush as an xc racer primarily it's weight or was it a mix of things?
    Between the carbon 2 and the alum 2000, is it a mere 1/2 lb difference (stock) or what?

Paricularly interested in hearing from those that do race it.

many thanks.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

xc racing a Rush..

I am using my Rush 3 as my xc race bike. I had a Scalpel 3000 that I swiped most of the parts for the Rush build. I have since upgraded a few things. I have an aluminum large Rush down to 24.5 lbs - a very respectable race weight. I feel much faster on the Rush since it doesn't seem as fragile as the Scalpel.

The only issue I see right now is water bottles. You only have one on the downtube and one under the downtube (seems like a wierd location). Anybody have input on how to carry 2 bottles easily? I will use the downtube bottle cage and was considering just throwing a bottle in my back jersey pocket.

All in all I really like the bike and think with 2 wheelsets it would make a very good 1 bike solution.

Matt

Quote Originally Posted by stuttsdc