mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Quick Release for Lefty?

Sorry if this is obvious, but I'm new to mtb (been riding road). Just bought a used Rush 3000 and didn't focus on the fact that removing the front wheel requires an allen wrench. Also seems like I need to remove the brake assembly from the fork in order to remove the wheel. Since I transport my bike in my car's back seat, this is sort of a pain.

Any quick release mechanisms available for the Lefty? Also, do I need to remove the brake assembly to remove the wheel?

mtbr member
    No and Yes .

No quick releases for the Lefty and you have to remove or swivel the brake caliper
    out of the way to remove the wheel first .

Always do the brake first and the axel second or you will never get the caliper off .

First time Lefty owners questioning the "hardship" of wheel removal is like buying
    a new car and complaining about where the button for the air conditioning is compared to you old car .
    After you use it a coulple hundred times , it's location is second nature .

Same with Lefty wheel removal
    Enjoy your new bike/Lefty

LA CHÈVRE
    Well, you could always weld an allen key permanently to the axle bolt.... but you'll still need to undo the caliper first. Weld allen keys to the caliper mounted bolts too? Well, taking a normal allen key and undoing three bolts is not so bad after all...

Does the bike fit in the car if you only take the rear wheel off and or the saddle but leave the front wheel on?

DAN.GEROUS.NET : MOUNTAIN BIKING : CYCLOCROSS : ROAD :

mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Gerous
    Well, you could always weld an allen key permanently to the axle bolt.... but you'll still need to undo the caliper first. Weld allen keys to the caliper mounted bolts too? Well, taking a normal allen key and undoing three bolts is not so bad after all...

Does the bike fit in the car if you only take the rear wheel off and or the saddle but leave the front wheel on?