Thread: prophet

mtbr member
    Sep 2007

prophet

I been riding an '06 Prophet 800 for the past year and really enjoy it.

Getting up steep hills has always been a bit of work. I have worked out a seated body position where I can get up them without tire slipage or the front coming off the ground, but it is uncomfortable at best. Standing up while pedalling up hill usually results in loss of traction on anything remotely loose. Thinking the TrailBears were not getting enough traction I put a Maxxis Ignitor on the back, which may have helped, but it would be hard to say for certain. I thought I had hill climbing down pat, until I started riding a local trail regularly, and am getting passed on the long uphill stretches more than I would like.

On a hard surface the front and rear shocks compress a good bit on each turn of the pedals, which seems to be a great loss of energy that I would prefer to go to getting me over the top of the hill. On the bike, I weigh around 205. I have the rear shock, a Fox Float R set with with 170 psi, and the front shock, a Lefty TPC, set for minimum rebound.

What can I do to make this bike better for climbing?

Whelen

Ridin' dirty!
    Quote Originally Posted by Whelen97
    I been riding an '06 Prophet 800 for the past year and really enjoy it.

Getting up steep hills has always been a bit of work. I have worked out a seated body position where I can get up them without tire slipage or the front coming off the ground, but it is uncomfortable at best. Standing up while pedalling up hill usually results in loss of traction on anything remotely loose. Thinking the TrailBears were not getting enough traction I put a Maxxis Ignitor on the back, which may have helped, but it would be hard to say for certain. I thought I had hill climbing down pat, until I started riding a local trail regularly, and am getting passed on the long uphill stretches more than I would like.