Thread: Old lefty's

mtbr member

Old lefty's

I'm looking to buy a Lefty for my bike. There are some really appealing deals on ebay, but those are older Lefty's. How do they compare to the current solo air Lefty's? Specially, the SPV and RLC versions. How do they compare on dampening, suppleness. The weight part I get.

mtbr member
    I'm not overly too keyed up on the various different types of Lefty, I run a Lefty Max which is coil and oil. Although I can't lock it out, I can adjust the rebound which is enough for me. The bike's so well balanced that I don't loose too much energy if I put my weight in the right place.

From what I've heard (please don't kill me for this I'm still learning) the air Lefty's aren't as reliable as the coil ones. Not sure how much truth there is in that statement though.

All I can do is recommend a Left Max, there's been a few on there recently that went for peanuts...

What bike are you putting it on?
    and no, I am not missing the other half of my fork....

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    SPV's are the most "dead" riding of the mid 2000's series Max 140's. The TPC is the sought after one,and the FFD just plain works.

RLC's are Fox built guts, and parts are getting harder to find, not a huge deal if you have a working fork, and treat it well.

All Lefty's have fully serviceable telescopes to date, races and bearings aren't a problem to source, it's the guts that can be problematic to find if missing or damaged.

Any 2005 and newer fork can be upgraded with various iterations of the 2011 damper cartridges, which makes them a good investment even the damping parts are shot, if you don't mind spending around $300 to have the whole thing serviced and upgraded.
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member