mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Newb Needs Help Upgrading Super V1000

Hello All,
    I am a pure newb to mountain biking so please forgive me if my terminology is wrong or I am posting in the wrong section. I have an old 95 Cannondale Super V 1000 and I am looking to upgrade the fork on it. From some of the people I've talked to, it seems my selection is rather limited. Is that because of the headset size? Can someone please explain? Also, i understand I can get an adapter for the headset and I can get any fork I want but my whole setup would have to change. I would just like to upgrade the fork, if I do some shopping online, what specs and what else should I look for? Any suggestions? Thanks to all in advanced.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    It really isn't that hard...Cannondale is smart to spec a 1.5" headtube rather than a standard 1-1/8"...the goal is to achieve a stiffer front end for sake of handling and control. You could purchase nearly any fork you chose...if it were a 1-1/8" fork, you would need a headset that reduces from 1.5" to 1-1/8", like the new Chris King 1.5 NoThreadSet. If you were really smart, and well financed, you would get a standard Cannondale replacement headset and use the Lefty that your frame was designed to accept!

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    welcome, I too have a '95 Super V (Super V 700). Irronically enough I am getting back into riding again and looking to upgrade my fork as well. So this post will help me also.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Thank you - ok, I am not smart....

I am trying to keep costs to a minimal, i don't want to invest something that costs more than the bike itself. So if I understand correctly, I need to look for a fork that will fit a 1.5" head tube so I don't need to buy any additional stuff correct? Thank you again for all the help!

mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Thank you - ok, I am not smart....