Big Damn Hero

New Scalpel 29er - Got Some Question

Last week I bought a new Scalpel 29er 1 and can't quite figure out a few very rudimentary things... but I'll attempt to defend myself by saying this is my first ever Cannondale (lame excuse, I know).

1. Where do I mount a water bottle cage? There are the two cable guides on the downtube that look like the cage bolts would go there, but well, there are cable guides in the way... I got an XL frame.

2. How do I adjust the angle of the seat. It appears to be a single bolt cam holder, but I can't get the nut at the top to loosen... it seems like if I loosen that nut I'll be able to tilt the nose of the seat down, but I don't want to force anything.

3. How do I remove the stem? I want to remove two of the spacers but can't figure out how to remove it!

I realize these are total noob questions but this bike is so different from all my previous bikes... it's like feels like a pedal powered spaceship. I would go back to the shop I bought it from and have them help me out, but I don't want to drive 70 miles.

Any help you all can provide would be much appreciated!!
    Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. ~ Albert Einstein

mtbr member
    May 2008
    1 - It'll mount using those cable guides. Do the cage on top of the cable guides with the bolts going through (cables run under the cage). It's tight for a larger bottle but a smaller one fits (I'm on XL too)

2 - Loosen the bottom hex bolt on the back (4mm) then turn the cam thing down until it's a bit farther than you want, then tighten the bolt (it'll tip away from the knob thing when you tighten slightly)

3 - haven't tried that yet.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011