ADIDAB

Lefty Axle and Hub Bolt Problem - Any Ideas?

I'm a Lefty noob and did something a little silly in my haste to get on the road the other day, I (blue) loctited the hub bolt on my Lefty fork. When I went for a ride, the front end was making a high pitched squealing type noise. Originally I thought it was the brakes but after aligning them perfectly it was still occurring.

It was then I realised the error I made so I removed the hub bolt but bought out the helicoil with it . I replaced it with a new helicoil and made sure I greased up the area including inside the axle etc. and replaced the hub bolt (the bolt was a bit stiff to get on but I did it). I thought this was problem solved...

I went for another ride last night, and things were fine for the first 0.5 - 1km, then the high pitched squeal started up again. I suspect that if I remove the hub bolt again I'm going to bring the helicoil out as well.

Any ideas how to fix this? I'm really kicking myself for doing something so stoopid but if there's any way to get around this I'd love to hear it!
    My LBS | Riding this and this

Missouri sucks...
    Jun 2009
    I had the same squeaking/squealing problem you're describing and all I did was turn the Lefty CAP, not bolt, a few turns to the right(off) so that it didn't make contact with the bolt. If the cap is on too tight, and rubbing on the bolt, it squeaks. At least it did on mine and my fix worked for me

FYI, I've heard putting Loctite on the bolt isn't necessary since the bolt will technically tighten if it's loose due to the rotation of the wheel. I DID put one drop of Loctite on the cap when I reinstalled it but I use a Project321 cap that uses a massive allen wrench, not that crappy 4 pronged thing that Cannondale uses.

ADIDAB
    Quote Originally Posted by DFYFZX