mtbr member

Lefty Advice which one?!

Looking to build a 29"er hardtail. Likely IF. have choice of 1.5 or 1 1/8th headtube, and obviously fork length.

will be singlespeed, been riding rigid for 2 year+

*if* money were no object, which lefty fork and why? i have no experience with them whatsoever, so any thoughts would be very welcome, including service intervals (i live in scotland, where it is pretty wet and muddy...) weight, self-serviceability, different internals pros cons etc...

thanks for any input.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Depends, I would say Max TPC, but that's if you want more travel. It all comes down to that. As far as internals go, the TPC is preferable to the SPV (in my estimation). The DLR2's are all the same internals, so choice is not a choice As far as self service, you'b better be a decent mechanic if you plan on doing much beyond oil changes and bearing resets. Not sating it's not possible, just not simple, no tools etc. The Max is what I use on my HT 29er, limited to 110. If you do a DLR2 you'll have 80 mm once limited. The lock out on the DLR2 is the only other consideration. Happy choosing!
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    thanks...hmmm. not sure re the travel thing due to bar height...was thinking 80mm would seem a lot to me after riding rigid so long.

any thoughts on the 321 kits/using the IF availability of 1.5" head tube? im not a weight freak but i like kit that works well and lasts well...

LA CHÈVRE
    If your frame is OnePointFive, you don't need the 321 kit, SI headset should fit right in. You just need a correct headtube length to make sure the frame and headset fits between the Lefty clamps.

Money no object? Get a Speed SL limited to 80mm. It's very light, stiff, has a lockout. If you were riding a rigid bike before, 80mm and the 29er wheels will make it more than smooth enough for you.