mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Lefty on 2009 F9?

So i'm pretty new to this MTB world but I just purchased a 2009 F9 and love it but I love the look of the lefty more! I know I will probably be told to search but I haven't seen anybody doing this.. I know I have to change out my hubs and convert to disks but would this be worth it or should I go with something like Rock shox? I use this bike for mostly trail riding but would like to be able to push the bike farther without having to worry about my RST Capa, 80 mm fork blowing out on me... i'm riding the small frame, would the 100mm Lefty be too tall?

Thanks for the input in advance!

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I hate to be the one to say it but you bought a F9 and want to spend 2x what the bike is worth on the fork, bad idea just by a better bike to begin with.

atleast get an F5 or 4 the 9 looks like a grandpa bike.
    08 Cdale Scalpel 4
    09 Cdale F5 traded ^

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    i know it's a cheap bike but i'm coming into this from being into hondas like my 97 hatchback that yes is a cheap car looks stock on the outside but is a turbo h22 that put down 301whp and 261 ft lbs. of torque that beats up on v8's all day that i built myself! So needless to say i'm the guy that like to take nothing and make it something plus i love the bike it's royal blue and white can't find any other bikes this color except specialized hard rock that is navy blue

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    So no one can help me out and tell me how i can make this work? I realize i need a lefty hub and the disk brakes that i already have .. i just need to know if i need to have an adapter or if the steering tube will fit ... i'm just looking for a little guidance

Keep it Simple Stupid!!!

Hope The 26in wheels are the reason to buy another bike

You should sell that Honda before you lose you Drivers License and buy a Flash 29er with the Lefty already on it.