I Tried Them ALL... Moderator

Layback Seatposts

What's the purpose? If saddle rails slide fore and aft- wouldn't this be just better? Call me a bonehead....I'm still new to biking!

On MTBR hiatus :(
    For when saddle rails don't slide back far enough.

Say, for instance, for riders with longer than average femurs, or anyone who wants to get further behind the cranks than a straight seatpost allows with the given seatpost geometry.
    speedub.nate
    MTBR Hiatus UFN

rust never sleeps
    A layback post also works well for the rider 'in between' frame sizes.
    My Prophet is an XL with a layback Thompson post...I wish they made 2XL.
    I love you to death, but get on the bus or throw yourself under it.

...a peaceful man stands tall...

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Quote Originally Posted by velocityrob
    A layback post also works well for the rider 'in between' frame sizes.
    My Prophet is an XL with a layback Thompson post...I wish they made 2XL.
    You'd think, but normally it'taint true.

Most frames are built with identical seat tube angles throughout their size range. Notice that the Seat Tube Angle of 75 covers all four frame sizes.

Since riders typically adjust thier saddle position (height, fore/aft) relative to crank position, it wouldn't really matter if you rode a Small frame with 18" of seatpost showing, or a XL frame with 13" of post sticking up -- they'd all put your but in the same place.

Any changes made with greater setback on the Small frame would be exactly the same as any changes made on the XL frame.

The seat tube angle of the Prophet is fairly steep, so it's likely most riders would want a healthy amount of setback to get into a into a familiar riding position.

speedub.nate
    MTBR Hiatus UFN

mtbr member
    The layback post & longer stem make the cockpit longer as well. Both change where the center of gravity is and the layback post changes the angle of attack on the cranks.
    What do I know, ask the "experts"!

mtbr member