Thread: Killer V 900

mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Killer V 900

Hi, I'm a newby here and was wondering if anyone could offer any suggestions of upgrades for a Cannondale Killer V.

I ran across this Cannondale Killer V from a friend that was in need of some quick cash. The bike feels a little small for me but didn't want to jump to an fast decisions to sell her yet base on what I've heard about the demand on these older bikes. Based on the crazy serial/model numbers that are extremely hard to read, I'm coming up that the bike is a 1994 Killer V 900 (polished aluminum) model.

Guess my first question is how do I "officially tell what the size is? There are no markings so I measured from the crank to the top of the seat post and it's roughly 16" I'm 5' 11''

Secondly, I'm really new to mountain biking and wondering if this is a good bike to get started on? The bike is currently set up with slimmer tires and a Blackburn rack as it was used primarily as a commuter for years. Again, I'm a newby to anything off the pavement so....

I think it has a few upgrades but don't really know for sure.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions! Posted some photos.

cvic
    Attached Images Attached Images          

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    Yours looks like a '94...
    turn the bike upside down and check the numbers stamped on the BB area.On the left hand side will be 2 letters and a 6digit number
    E = 1993, F = 1994, G = 1995, H = 1996, I = 1997, J = 1998, K = 1999

A = January, B = Febuary, C = March, D = April, E = May, F = June, G = July, H= August, I = September, J = October, K = November, L = December
    eg FA=1994-jan

On the right is another number, IIRC the last 2 numbers represent the frame size, ie 15/17/19/21
    another way to tell is to measure the wheelbase with 15/17/19/21 respectively:-103.8/104.9/107.7/110.5cm
    hope that helps.