mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Jekyll "Free Ride" setup, what to do?

First off I want to say that I understand I have the wrong bike for what I want to do, but I am a college student, spend all my money on dirtbikes and the like so a new bike is absolutely out of the question at this time.

That said this is what I am trying to do. I ride a 2005 Jekyll that is stock besides some DNR platform pedals, an 8 inch front rotor, bash ring and RockShox Pike with through-axle style hub laced onto stock wheel. I am wondering what would be the best upgrades I could do to make this bike perform better at ripping around town, jumping stairs, wheelchair ramps, walls etc. I was wondering if I could put heavier springs in my forks to help with some harsh landings? I think I read before that I could but Im not sure. Also considering going to a hydraulic front brake setup and would really like to find a chain roller style crank that fits with just the one giant ring as I dont ride uphill without a motor

I am transferring schools next semester and will be 3 1/2 hours from home so I wont be riding dirtbikes or streetbikes and need something to keep me sane. There looks to be some great riding places around town and campus so I would like to take my Dale with me and do some riding.

Appreciate any advice or encouragement.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    Your bike is very good at XC but for wall rides and stairs you need an AM or real freeride. Use your bike for singletrack trails and you'll have a great time. No big drops or hucks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    yeah, you can 'freeride' that bike but you need to be smooth...next investment should be a good set of wheels, i love azonic outlaws, the 2010 are out now with some nice anodized colors...and good dualply tires to go on them...maxxis high roller
    "He can make even a global summit meeting seem like a kegger." M. Dowd, NY Times, 19 July 2006

mtbr member
    Apr 2009