mtbr member
    Mar 2007

I have a Cannondale F4, what would you change/upgrade

So basically, Im a newbie who bought an 07 C'dale F4. As I ride more, I can understand the want for performance upgdrades and weight loss. Since I don't have experience with other bikes/parts, I'd like to know your experienced opinion on as to what parts you would change or upgrade on my bike and why.

Frame Furio-X
    Fork HeadShok Super Fatty Ultra DL, 80 mm
    Rear Shock N/A
    Rims Sun Black Eye Disc, 32 hole
    Hubs Shimano M475
    Spokes Mach1
    Tires CST Caballero, 26 x 2.1"
    Pedals Wellgo alloy cage w/clip and strap
    Crank TruVatiV ISOflow, 22/32/44
    Chain SRAM 9-speed
    Rear Cogs SRAM PG-950, 11-34
    Bottom Bracket Shimano BB-UN26
    Front Derailleur Shimano Deore
    Rear Derailleur SRAM X-7
    Shifters SRAM SX5 Trigger
    Handlebars Cannondale C3, 20 mm rise
    Stem Cannondale XC3 HeadShok, 31.8 mm
    Headset Cannondale HeadShok Si
    Brakeset Avid BB5 Disc
    Brakelevers Cannondale Fire
    Saddle Cannondale Mountain-V
    Seat Post Cannondale C4 Alloy
    Colors Teak Brown (matte) (BRN)
    Sizes XL
    Extras Cannondale V-Tech Grip

7hz
    Old newbie
    Budget?

Riding style?

Assuming you want to spend a few hundred:

Brakelevers Cannondale Fire -> Avid or other (weight, function)
    Saddle Cannondale Mountain-V -> Whatever nice saddle, (again weight / function)
    Pedals Wellgo alloy cage w/clip and strap -> Eggbeaters (hmm, I think I see a pattern here :-)
    Wheels and tires -> Mavics + lightweight tires

Basically, you COULD go through the whole bike and change most everything if you wanted. Be carefull you do it because you need to. I like a lot of the bits on my 4SL http://gb.cannondale.com/bikes/07/ce...del-7FS4S.html (apart from the continually breaking Headshok!!)

mtbr member
    Mar 2006