mtbr member

how good is Prophet for XC?

I know I should probably be riding a Rush for for my local terrain; mostly XC stuff. But I've been riding a short travel XC bike( 3") for the past 7 years, and quite frankly, I want to just go out on the trails and "play". I want to take the most difficult lines and launch off of some stuff, and I want to go out and find some urban stuff to catch a little air. And I want to be comfortable doing it. But here's my dilemma; I love to climb (nothing makes me happier than to clean a technical climb) and I love to weave through the trees on the local singletrack. Will I be giving up too much (climbing, zipping, and efficiency) to justify a Prophet? Any suggestions? Thanks.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    With the prophet you can just go over stuff instead of having to go around it. I have only riden a prophet and scapel. the prphet climbs well the scalpel climbs better. The rush is lighter than the prophet, but has a lower bottom bracket. The rush is known for good climbing, but can be a little harder to deal with on the downhills.

I really like the Lefty for xc. The 2008 prophets dont have the lefty, but the rush does.

So, is the prophet good for xc, Yes
    Are there better? yes, but there is a trade off for those.
    Lead by my Lefty............... right down the trail, no brakes.

shut up and RIDE!
    Sounds like you want the best of all worlds... go for the Prophet! I love mine, it climes well, downhills are a blast, and if I want to launch something, I just do it... True, there are other bikes that climb better, however from what you described as your preferred riding style, it sounds like the Prophet is a perfect fit.
    '11 Surly Pugsley
    '07 Prophet 3
    96' Killer V 900ht
    04' F700sx
    '10 TommiSea Terrain Destroyer

mtbr member
    Sep 2007