Thread: help a new guy!

mtbr member
    Aug 2007

help a new guy!

Hey im new to biking and was interested in buying one. my neighbor approached me to buy his because he hasn't rode in 2yrs. He has a Purple Cannondale M900 mountain bike w/ pepperoni stickers on the struts. from what i can see it's in good condition just needs to pump the front tire up. I'm not sure what year it is but when I asked him how much he was looking to sell it he replied "how much do you want to buy it for you tell me" problem is im not sure i have no idea how much that bike goes for. like i said im a newbie, can anyone tell me how much a used one of these goes for? I'm interested but I don't want to get ripped off. Thanks for the help!

i apologize for not having pics i can maybe post one from my camera phone later.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    oh this moutain bike doesnt have any shocks or anything. pepperoni stickers on the front and back and it's light weight too.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    M900 wasn't made every year, but likely dates back into the mid 90's, so without knowing a little more or a picture it's hard to say what the bike is worth. I dug thru the catalogs @ www.vintagecannondale.com and found that the M900 was made in purple in 1995. I owned the 95 M800 which was identical except for the frame geometry. It sold for around $1000 new. Unfortunately it not worth anywhere near that now. if it looks like the attached pic - then while it's a nice bike, and light and all that good stuff - I personally wouldn't give more than $250 for it now - and that may be very generous.