mtbr member
    Mar 2008

head shock lost air, now what?

okay so i just got this bike last week off craigslist. today was my second ride with it. i was going up a technical long climb with the lock out on and then i start hearing the shock squeaking. so my lock out is gone and so is my compression. it was terrible, i was able to finish the ride but i had to be careful going back down to not bottom out the shock.

i am new to cannodale stuff, what do i do with this fork? do i go to LBS or cannondale?

mtbr member
    typically your local c-dale dealer would send the fork into cannondale for a rebuild.
    unless...your shop is familiar enought to do it themselves.
    While c-dale cust serv is very good...they always made me go through the lbs.

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Sounds like the fork needs servicing. As the other poster alluded to, Cannondale may be able to help, but if the fork is older, they may not take it for service, but recommend a new fork through their trade in program. Saves some bucks over retail, but it still ain't free.

There are a number of places that service Cannondale suspension forks as a business, much like PUSH Industries or Quality Bicycle Products' Shock Treatment Center for example, (though neither do Cannondale stuff though). Some searching will turn up folks that do.

Also worth trying? Get a Schraeder valve core tool, remove the core, grease it and snug it back in place, that's free. Most often, the air piston seals get flattened, hard and tired, A service will replace them (and many others), and the fork will smile again....
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

Music & Bikes
    What model/year is it ?
    "There is a big difference between kneeling down and bending over" -FZ

mtbr member
    Mar 2008