Prophet converted!

First ride on my new dale....should I be upset?

Today I took my new F3 (hard tail w/ caffeine frame) out for my first real ride. After about 2 hours I stopped because I had to put my chain back on. While I was holding the bike in the air with the back tire spinning I noticed that the cassette looked wobbly. It wasnt severe but something is definitely bent.

I didnt drop off any cliffs or jumps, but there was some rough terrain that I rode over. I'm only about 160 pounds and I thought this was a decent bike, so I didnt expect it to get damaged so easily. Should I be mad, or is this to be expected?

Sorry for the lame question, but i'm a MTB newbie....just trying to learn.

FWIW, here is a link to the bike specs: http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/07/c...odel-7FS3.html

mtbr member
    I would be a little miffed. The problem with purchasing a bike at a bike shop is that you run the risk of someone putting it together wrong or not adjusting the deraillers or brakes properly. It happened to when I bought my f400 3 years ago. It never shifted right and the LBS did not set the High derailler stop properly, so my chain was popping off constantly.

I wouldn't blame it on the bike though

Prophet converted!
    Thanks for the quick response and input.

Just to make sure i've clearly stated what my problem is: I'm concerned with the rear hub that is apparently bent.

I'm not concerned with the fact that the chain fell off; perhaps I should have left that out of the post.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    I would be a little rattled if my brand new bike had a damaged hub. At least you still have warranty so you can take it to your lbs and have it repaired. Hopefully this doesn't keep you off your bike for very long. I just a got a caffeine in august and I love it, I'm sure you will feel the same way once you get it tuned up.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by F3caffeine
    Thanks for the quick response and input.