• Lefty

18 66.67%

Thread: Fatty vs Lefty

Huge Tracts of Land

Fatty vs Lefty

Hi

looking at getting a new C'Dale

have been told the Lefty is the way to go - have been happy with Fatty

so tell me what is good / bad of them - will be getting either a F2000SL or F4000SL so both forks will be topend

I hear the Lefty does not perform so well in rivers? is this big rivers or a creek - what do they handle like in wet weather, mud etc?

New Zealand is a land of extremes with lots of great wet weather riding but I don't want to be hindered by worrying about getting the Lefty wet, etc.

I am an eduro XC rider - so like a little bit of everything - not into DH Extreme at speed - more technical DH.

Any comments appreciated.

Every Ride A Gift
    I've had a couple of years' experience with first a Lefty, now a Lefty Max TPC+, and they have been unbelievably great - especially the new Max. The old one locked out which was nice sometimes, but the new one gives more travel and has a titanium spring and much smoother overall action, easy adjustability, etc. Never had any problems with them whatsoever - they're a lot tougher than you would think.

mtbr member
    I've only test ridden both before I bought my Jekyll w/Lefty Max. I'd say at 80mm. they will perform equally well. The ELO is a lot more money for 20mm. more travel. The concern with water getting into lefties is negligible. I've ridden though 16" water several times with the suspension taking hits underwater. No water has gotten in, but I can see how it possibly could through air vent holes in the top of the boot. Personally I would take the F2000. That BBQ Matte Black is so cool, and XT is a better value than XTR. You're gonna love either one.

mtbr member
    Dec 2003