mtbr member
    Jun 2004

Difference between Scalpel and HT?

Has anyone been riding Scalpel and Cannondale hardtails with the same size?
    What's the difference in handling? Does the Scalpel feel longer or just the same? Is the hardtails easier on tricky parts or maybe not? Is the step from hardtail to Scalpel maybe....revolutionary?

jcw
    Ride your bicycle(s)!
    It's been a long time since I've ridden a C-dale hardtail, probably back around 2000. I was not at all fond of that era of headshock and didn't much care for the bike. I've been riding a Scalpel for 2 years now and feel it's one of the best kept secrets in mountain biking. It somehow manages to be both super stable and have razor sharp handling. IMO the extra stability plus the 2.7" of rear travel make the Scalpel much better in the "tircky parts" - ie. technical terrain. Demo one if you can!

Quote Originally Posted by fullrulle
    Has anyone been riding Scalpel and Cannondale hardtails with the same size?
    What's the difference in handling? Does the Scalpel feel longer or just the same? Is the hardtails easier on tricky parts or maybe not? Is the step from hardtail to Scalpel maybe....revolutionary?
    "The question before the human race is, whether the God of nature shall govern the world by his own laws, or whether priests and kings shall rule by fictitious miracles."
    John Adams to Thomas Jefferson, 1815

just ride
    I race the 2004 race season on a large Scapel Team and a Large F3000 ('03). The main diffence I feel is the high speed stability is better on the Scalpel. When it comes to tight singletrack over varied terrain (rocks, roots and short leg burning climbs) the F3000 is a speed demon. It just seems to more nimble in the woods. When racing in 24hr events or marathon (50+ mile events) the Scalpel is a little more compfortable.

Both bike are fast, and if I had to chose one I would buy the Scalpel.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004