mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Crank upgrade question . . .

Hey guys, noob here, i have a 2011 flash 1 alloy and wanted to upgraded my cranks (i'm getting a ticking sound on hard pedalling) to sram x9 to match the rest of the x9 components. It came with the FSA Afterburner 386. I found the x9 crankset on sale at jenson for $110, which size would i need to get ? They have 175mm 26-39 or the 175mm 28-42 ? Everything else on the bike is stock. Is there anything i can do to upgrade the bb30 ? I have a constant ticking when pedalling hard with the left crank arm. Thanks in advance for your input guys !

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Could probably get ride of the tick/creak by taking the crank off and cleaning everythign.

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Everything has been cleaned and re-installed... Full disclosure : I bought a 2011 flash 1 alloy and the day after i got it, it started to tick like crazy. I took it back to the lbs where i bought it and after taking it apart, greasing, cleaning, and changing out various components the ticking was still there. So after about 3 months of waiting, cannondale replaced the frame with an 2013 F29er. I went on three rides since getting the bike back and the awful ticking is back. I hate being without my bike so i wanted to see if i can trace the ticking down and came to the conclusion (not 100%) that it may be the bb30 or the crankset, hence the question of the post. Just the frame was replaced so Im thinking its one of the components that is making the ticking or THE WARRANTIED REPLACEMENT IS BAD ALSO ?

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by gtforce1 View Post