Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Converting my 2013 Scalpel 2 29er to 27.5..Help!

OK, I was just about ready to post my 2013 Scalpel 2 on Ebay and get rid of it..So this is a last ditch effort before doing so..I'm 54 years old and simply bought the wrong bike..I raced expert in my 30's and 40's (expert? whats that you say?) so I'm far from a beginner in mt biking..I jumped on the 29er bandwagon and just hate the bike..I live on the east coast and ride the gnarliest **** around and the difference between 29 and 26 was much more than I expected.(way more) The 29er is awful on tight singletrack, climbing steep technical, and the overall BIG feeling on the bike makes for a lousy east coast bike. Don't even get me started on the "rolls over everything" myth! If I lived out west, I wouldn't hesitate to keep this..This is not a crack at C'dale either..Love the bikes..So, please, your opinions on if I can make the conversion on my 29er to 27.5 easily, and will it help me get more of the smaller, quicker bike I have with my 2001 Giant NRS ONE 26"?..I did a few searches but nothing substantial told me yes or no..I'm ready to sell this but would love some opinions on the conversion and if it will help me before I go through the whole selling/re-buying process..Thanks so much.

Mike..

mtbr member
    don't do it. the wheel base is a significant part of the problem. not to mention pedal strikes with a lower bb. mho: sell it and wait for a cdale demo event in your area / ride before you buy. good luck!
    Sore Neck or Low Back Pain after riding? Our tools stop muscle tension before it turns chronic.
    MassageBlocks.com

mtbr member