Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2003

Smile Computer on Lefty

Does anyone have any idea as to how I could mount a cycle computer on my Scalpel?

Has anyone tried to mount on the rear tire??

Suggestions please!

Thanks!

mtbr member
    I have a Cateye Astrale 8 with cadence, and since the cadence sensor has to be by the cranks, the wheel sensor is placed by the rear wheel. I mounted mine on my Jekyll's "seat stay" and the only problem I had was getting the sensor close enough to the magnet to pickup the signal, but I just shimmed it with a rubber band and it works fine. Besides, the Scalpel probably has a bit less mud clearance than the Jekyll anyway so it might not be a problem.

Another solution is this bracket (link to an article from singletrackworld) but I have no experience with it and I'm not sure if it's distributed in the US.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudsy
    Does anyone have any idea as to how I could mount a cycle computer on my Scalpel?

Suggestions please!

Thanks!

Hi there!!
    check out ebay item # 3684053323 you can use the buy it now feature for $19.50...the seller is from the netherlands,I bought one & it arrived in less than 10 days...
    good luck!!

SOB
    mtbr member
    May 2004
    I am geting my Scalpel 900 in 5 days and I am also geting a cateye eduro for it... I asked by LBS the same question and they said they know how to do it ( how to mount it on the front).. So when I get my Scalpel in a few days I will let you know how it is installed if you still need to know

mtbr member

lefty

you can mount it on the lefty, i did it on my buddy's jekyll and it worked pretty good. i mounted mine (jekyll) on my rear chain stay and it works and has for 3 years (enduro 2) i ran it with the rear brake cable, and there is no wire excess sticking out anywhere.

Good Luck