mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Is the carbon Flash structurally sound for a 300lb Clyde?

Just as the title says. I'm a 300lb built fella that has his eye on a 2011 cdale flash carbon 3.

I have no experience with the carbon frames and am a little worried about the structural integrity of carbon vs aluminum. Rode aluminium frames since I could remember.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    just flicking through the manual, it stays 300lb is the limit. so if you are cock on 300lb i guess you're okay.
    this might help answer some of your concerns...

Carbon Fiber Q & A

LA CHÈVRE
    What I'm wondering is... at that weight, do you really need a bike as light as a Flash Carbon? Not even sure a few pounds in the bike will be 'feelable' when riding...

DAN.GEROUS.NET : MOUNTAIN BIKING : CYCLOCROSS : ROAD :

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Gerous View Post
    What I'm wondering is... at that weight, do you really need a bike as light as a Flash Carbon? Not even sure a few pounds in the bike will be 'feelable' when riding...
    +1. At 300lbs, I would not ride a carbon bike and I would probably be a little nervous on aluminum.

A guy on a bike Moderator
    Getting on a bike is a great way to lose those extra pounds. Maybe start riding with a tougher frame (steel), and then reward yourself with that carbon Flash when you've lost a good bit of weight.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    Im not a fat turd guys!, im pretty built "big boned" and muscular, fat wise i could loose maybe 20-30lbs

No good in rock gardens..
    Quite apart from the frame, you need to remember that the rest of the components on the bike are aimed at a particular area of usage - that being lighter riders riding smoother terrain. Light wheels, light tyres, light bars, seatpost, etc.

That would not be a bike I'd suggest for a heavier rider.

Quote Originally Posted by Rnd0209 View Post
    Im not a fat turd guys!, im pretty built "big boned" and muscular, fat wise i could loose maybe 20-30lbs