mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Cannondale Trail SL 29er 1

Anyone have any experience with this bike? I am going to make my first *big* purchase and am eyeballing this bike. I have a Cannondale F-500 in perfect condition I am going to use this season (my first season)

Even tho I am new to the sport, I feel I will progress pretty quickly. I am a avid snowboarder and a lot of the same principles apply (picking your line, shifting your weight etc). Went on my first group ride the other day and even the guys I rode with said I was doing pretty good for never been on a trail.

Anyone have any experience with this particular bike? I saw a review for the Trail SL 29er 2 on this board (2012 model) and about $300 less than this. Cant find any real reviews on this besides a couple on C'Dales home page

TRAIL SL 29ER 1 - Trail SL 29er - Hardtail 29er - Mountain - Bikes - 2013

I think my first bike is going to be around $1600-$1800 budget range. Pretty sure I want to try 29er over 26, thinking hard tail. I think if i go FS i would want to shell out serious cash ($3,000+) which i simply can not do right now, there are like 10 FS bikes I want on the cannondale site haha. I think the above bike would also be something I could keep for a longg time to complement my FS bike further down the road. Have a HT and a FS depending on my mood and riding situation

So my plan is to rock my F-500 for this season, save up some dolla bills then upgrade to a new bike in the fall (clearance sale). I am going to be doing trails in Eastern Virginia. So a lot of roots, mellower down hill, smaller jumps. Not a lot of rocks. Interested in trails, some distance and just having fun, riding hard.

Cannondale Trail SL 29er 1-cannondale-f-500.jpg

Just A Mountain Biker.

Cannondale Trail SL 29er 1

That's a great choice, and solid thinking on saving up. You should be able to get one for 1499 or less by the time the fall rolls around. I have a 2012 SL2 29 and love it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD