I Tried Them ALL... Moderator

Cannondale Should Further Improve Headshok

One thing I still cannot accept about the Lefty- is that massive fork stanchion, braced to the head tube. I know because of carbon, they are reasonably light- but I still think the existing Headshok technology can be brought to another level, in terms of travel, strength, and lightness.

I am an aerospace engineer, who has spent countless hours studying landing gear technology for military, and commercial aircraft. I am convinced if Cannondale were to remove just one leg of their existing Headshok DLR fork- the end result would be the lightest front suspension, on the planet. However, the remaining leg would obviously need to be made of an entirely different metals composition/construction. I would recommend a flat Scandium, or even Ti forging, as the "new Lefty" brace. Then, add another 20-50mm of air-sprung, oil-damped travel......and this new fork will be a world-beating setup.

Carefully examine the front landing gear of any fighter aircraft, to see what I mean. One brace is all that's needed to safely bring down an entire $50million jet. A mountain bike can be brought down with much less odd-looking hardware. Thoughts, ideas, comments?

Stewed Screwed & Tattooed
    Feb 2004
    An un-suspended version already exists. It's called the fatty solo. I can only imagine that there is a suspended version in the works.

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    I actually perfer the "odd looking" hardware of the Lefty.

Avenger of Evil
    I like my lefty too....but that looks Cool!!!!
    I just ordered a F29 One, but now I'm having second thoughts.
    Where did you find that?
    Have I not been surfing the Cannondale website enough?
    Famous Last Words....."Hey, watch this!!"

mtbr member
    the ridgid lefty is europe only.

Kanonkuglen.dk

Yes...