(Mtbr Site Manager) Administrator

Cannondale Rize 1 - ride impressions and preview

The term "trail bike" is a fairly new phrase that has arisen recently in the mountain biking world. In the ever increasing segments of mountain biking, most manufacturers put the "trail bike" between XC and AM in the XC-AM-FR-DH spectrum.

But, just exactly what IS a "trail bike"? Can it be defined by something as simple as amount of suspension travel and bike geometry or is it something more?

Well, I have been riding the new Cannondale Rize 1 for two months now, and one thing is clear....the Cannondale Rize is the kind of bike that defines the term "trail bike".

I have a full review of the Rize 1 coming soon, but I just wanted to put out a short preview of what I have learned and experienced so far. I was set up on the Rize 1 by Murray from Cannondale. I am riding a size small, and will include the suspension settings in my full report. This is the same pre-production Rize 1 that many people here have demo'ed. Since it is a pre-production, the front triangle is actually aluminum (not carbon fiber, as the production Rize 1s are), but with the forging process...it fools many people with it's decidedly carbon looking joints.

The first thing I noticed about this bike is that the finish on it is beautiful. The white finish with black and red highlights give it an elegant but racey look. And of course, the Lefty Max gets looks anywhere you go (if you are in to that sort of thing.) Even after the half dozen demo days and my rides on it, the bike still looks fresh.

The build kit is also quite solid, with CrossMax wheels, XT/XTR drivetrain, XTR brakes, RP23 rear shock, FSA carbon bars.....But it is the Hollowgram SL cranks and Left Max Carbon fork that stand out.

The Hollowgram SL cranks are rumored to be the lightest cranks out, right now. I have not personally verified that, but even with the lightness, they are super stiff and efficient and they hold up to trail abuse.