mtbr member

Cannondale with Headshok Stem question

I posted this in the general section before I know about this sub forum.

I have a 1997 Cannondale F900 that I started riding again but don't like the bar position.

I was looking at either a 120 or 130mm stem with a 20D angle. I am 6'0" tall and have a 72" wingspan but a longer torso. The stock stem makes me feel like I am leaning forward too much and is tiersome. Which of these two stems would be a better choice and why? I am mainly concerned about achieving a more straight up riding position.....I may also be looking at some taller bars also.

Just a flesh wound

That'sa long stem

I put a shorter stem on my Prophet to be a bit more upright. You can use a riser bar as well. Should be able to dial it in. I don't know the original stem length you have, so can't comment on what you should go to. I started at 120mm with 5 degree and went to 80mm with 10 degree. Swept my bars a bit back as well.
    My name is Chris and I ride a Prophet 650b with a Lefty.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    I have the same issue with my F1000.
    I would like to find a Headshock eliminator to run conventional type forks on it too as it's a PIA to get it serviced and aired up correctly.
    Any ideas?

mtbr member
    Shortly after I bought my F700 in 1995 I bought a replacement stem from Cannondale because I felt the same way. Same length with a steeper (about 20 degrees) angle. Brought the bar up and back. Switched to riser bars that also helped. Added Ergon grips recently which are great. Not the most current technology but I really like that bike. I would like to think you can still buy those stems.

mtbr member
    I am running some specialized bars which are wider and 1" taller. They made a huge improvement but I am still looking to go with a 20deg stem and slightly shorter. The stock stem measures 140mm and I am looking at a 20deg 120mm stem. I will report back with my impressions.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005