mtbr member
    Jul 2004

can you guys answer this?

what are the advantages and disadvantages of having a left fork then non left. for example jekyll 600 has regular fork, and jekyll 800 has left fork.

Are you talking to me?

The Lefty rules.

Quote Originally Posted by sky84
    what are the advantages and disadvantages of having a left fork then non left. for example jekyll 600 has regular fork, and jekyll 800 has left fork.
    Quicker tube changes. Truer steering, particularly in the long run. (needle bearings instead of bushings.) American made. (If that matters.) Better damping than most. Questions?
    gfy

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    hm....thanks for your advice. this is kinda off the subject but well i'm deciding between jekyll 600 disk and jekyll 800, both are same bikes except the 800 one is leffy. i'm not an expert in mtb; however, just for my type of bike riding (some steep climbs, rock gardens, xc county, etc....) which do you think will be better for my type of riding?

Are you talking to me?

That depends on you.

Quote Originally Posted by sky84
    hm....thanks for your advice. this is kinda off the subject but well i'm deciding between jekyll 600 disk and jekyll 800, both are same bikes except the 800 one is leffy. i'm not an expert in mtb; however, just for my type of bike riding (some steep climbs, rock gardens, xc county, etc....) which do you think will be better for my type of riding?
    The Lefty is sweet. It is a great match for the Jekyll frameset. There is a reason that the Lefty is on the Upper end Jekylls.

If the extra $ are not an issue, go for it. The 800 also gets hydro brakes, if I remember right.
    gfy

mtbr member
    I had the same decision about a month ago and went with the 800. For the extra few hundred bucks, I thought it was worth the better fork and brakes. Also the 600 Disc isn't cheap either.

This is my first mountain bike, so for what it is worth, I really like the ride on the lefty.

mtbr member

I love my 800