Thread: Brake issue

mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Brake issue

I took the front wheel off my Flash 2 to change out my tire. I know you can do it without (love the Lefty) but wanted to do it for the practice. Anyway when I put the front derailer back on I get some light rubbing sound in the brakes. I don't know if I messed up the adjustment or if some sand etc got in between the pads. Any insights?

Should I just pull them off again and blow them out with compressed air? Are there any other ways to clean them up? The noise isn't consistent but occurs at the same spot on the disks.

Also does anyone have a link for adjustment procedures? I am a total newbie working on the bike....

Thanks

Helmetless Crasher
    I assume you mean the front CALIPER. Disc brake adjustment sux. I hate it. Maybe I just suck at it - so take my advice for whatever its worth.

Anyway, basically you just loosen the caliper bolts (the ones that mount the caliper to the caliper bracket, NOT the ones that mount the bracket to the Lefty). Loosen the bolts so that the caliper can easily be moved from side to side a few mm's with your hand. Then squeeze the brake lever and hold it squeezed. While holding it squeezed, tighten the caliper bolts.

Theoretically, that should center the rotor between the brake pads. If it does, great - you are done! In my experience, it rarely does, however. Spin the wheel and listen for rub.

If you still have rub, you can likely look at the caliper from the top and see which pad is rubbing the disc. Then adjust the caliper towards the other side just a smidge by loosening the bolts and moving it over a mm at a time until the rub is gone. You may grow a long beard while doing this repeatedly in your effort to get zero rub.