mtbr member
    Aug 2007

98' SuperV trying Problem Solvers Reducers w/ Cane Creek standard headset, HELP!

Hey out there,

I picked up a 98' SuperV 1000 on craigslist at the beginning of the summer, with a blown headshok. Im just getting around to putting a new 1 1/8 fork on it, bought some problem solvers reducer cups (really like the Cane Creek reducer headset but Im on a budget). Anyway, for the life of me, I can't see how the standard headset is supposed to press into these reducer cups, its so tight I wonder if my cups are defective, or I need to get a different headset? I probably sound like an idot, but forgive me as I'm very new to this deal.....anyone who has used the problem solvers reducer cups have some insight on my situation? Should i just wack it really hard with some oil and a sledgehammer and hope for the best ? I don't want to destroy this headset I paid $40 for. I've attached a couple pics to show you what the setup is looking like.

Thanks Y'all!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Ridin' dirty!
    Either install them into the frame and use a headset press, or like you mentioned put some oil or grease on 'em and put them in a vice. Whacking it is a bad idea, since they might not go down straight and you'll end up bending something.
    "Common sense isn't always that common!"
    Custom Prophet and Custom "Leftified" Delta V

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Agreed 100%. If you're trying to do it out of the frame, you'll go crazy. You also make no mention of a headset press, if you think they press in by hand, think again. If you know this, and are using a press, speak up, because there is little chance it's the hardwares fault, from where we're standing
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! two possible solutions....