mtbr member

60mm hdshk blowed up...what fork do I convert to????

Well, my wonderful 60mm headshock has gone ten toes up again....I really wanna join the 21st century and get a conventional fork....ennybody got advice for me? LBS quoted $700 to convert to Fox 80mm SID ($500 fork/$100 reducer?/$100 labor). I wuz gonna try to do better than that by doing it myself...I am an electro-mechanical service technician so used to dismanteleing disembowelliung unmantleing...takin stuff apart. I am willing to buy tools for the headset and all, but my real questions are about how much travel? what brand of fork? LBS said no more than 80mm travel or the bike will be like "easy rider" and extend out to far, but I read the C-dale portion of the forums and some have mounted 130mm forks. I was thinking 100mm Fox or Marzochi with lots of rebuild options and lots of adjustments. Also LBS said rear shock is odd size and frame would be junk after it goes out because no parts avail to rebuild plus no other shock will fit. I am 54 yom 165 lbs, I ride local state park ~1300 ft altitude change on 16.5 mi loop once a week. Comments please?

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    What model Cdale are you riding? How old is it? I'm thinking Super-V 500/700 from the mid/late 90s if it had a 60mm Fatty on it? As far as your ? about the rear shock - no idea - but you can call cannondale and ask to speak to someone in the technical support department. Usually you can get right through. Ask them about the rear shock (helps if you know the year of the bike) and they should be able to point you stright. If the local shop is telling you it's junk - I'm beting they're not a cannondale dealer anyway. If cannondale tells you you're SOL - then you at least have heard it from the horse's mouth.