mtbr member
    Apr 2006

51mm offset Lefty? (or even 61mm??)

I've been running Lefties on my various bikes for about 5 years now... Santa Cruz XC, Ibis Mojo, now currently on my 2012 TallBoy 29er first with 2012 Lefty and now with 2013 Lefty. (Review on 2012 vs 2013 shortly)

My new bike will be here shortly (Ibis Ripley) and unfortunately they are using 51mm offset on the fork. The demo bike I rode was flawless, I'd hate to mess with the geometry much. Lefty I believe is 46mm.

I wonder if C'dale will ever produce a 51mm offest Lefty, seems like some of the 29er mfg's are looking that direction in fork geometry for a variety of reasons.

I must say I loved the way the Ripley handled, which is why I am getting one... but I will certainly miss my Lefty.

That being said, I'll probably try my Lefty on the Ripley just to see how it feels....

Just thinkin' out loud (and wishing - C'dale, if you ever read these posts!)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 51mm offset Lefty?-tb_2012lefty.jpg  

Last edited by CactusJackSlade; 08-06-2013 at 11:05 PM.
    Best racing series in the West!
    http://www.bicyclingevents.com
    Helmet cam reviews
    http://www.helmetcamreview.com

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    You can hope....but it probably won't happen.

FWI....I had several forks when I was building my Lenz...a Reba, a Fox with G2/ 51 and a DT Swiss. They all steered a little different...but I could feel a bigger change in steering by changing the fork sag. YMMV

I think it's funny that so many people and Bike mfgrs scoffed at the 51 offset of Fisher/Trek.....and now they're on the band wagon.

The fork you may really want is the SuperMax Lefty. It is the best part of the Trigger29. It has a 61 offset...who knows how that will work with the Ripley

mtbr member
    Jul 2011