mtbr member
    Jun 2008

2012 Flash2 29er -30% or wait for 2013 F29 2?

Hi folks, noob alert here :

I'm considering purchasing a new 2012 Flash2 29er Alloy at a decent price, over 30% off 'LIST' compared to a 2013 F29 2.

Is it worth holding out for the 2013 to come down in price or secondhand? I gather the 2012 and 2013 frames are the same?

Are the 2013 new Lefty forks significantly better? As a noob I'm after something more maintenance free/reliable than to fiddle with/high performance.

Are the Sun Ringle rims , hubs etc etc on the 2102 any good? Are the different spec wheels on the 2013 significantly better etc? Can you go Stans/tubeless on either with ease.

Any other differences worth bearing in mind, are the weights of the 12 and 13 models virtually the same? Quality of other components, like brakes?

Are the poor grips and over wide handlebar issues on the 12, better on the 13?

nb. I 'm looking to do Long dist non technical XC races eg 100 mile.

Also I'm 5'9" with a longish back relative to my legs, I'm assuming the medium size will suit me.

cheers folks

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    I've got a '12 Flash 29er. I can't comment on the '13 Lefty, but I've been very happy with mine, and no real maintenance issues (i've done a bearing reset once since last winter). Sun rims/wheels on mine have been great. I like SRAM components, and have been pretty happy with the drivetrain overall. I swapped out the OEM tires for Conti Race King 2.2's, very happy with these. Also swapped out grips for Ergon, also very happy with the upgrade. I'm 5'8", 30" inseam, Med fits really well. I'd suggest getting a '12 and putting the money you save into upgrades!

banned
    At 30% off I would go with the 12. I have a 13 model and love the new Lefty, but it is not 30% better.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

2012 vs 2013.

I agree that the 12 sounds like a better deal but there a few things to consider.