mtbr member

2012 Flash Carbon 29'er 2 Weight?

I'm currently contemplating picking up this bike and would like to know the weight. I ride a large and am comparing the Flash Alloy 1 29'er as well as the superflys. So far the Alloy 1 is the bargain of the group. Such a great bike for so little $$$. But with the Carbon 2 and superfly being very comparable I'd like to see what the weight is. I've been riding a fly for the last 3 years and it might be time for a change.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Im picking up my 2012 Carbon Flash 29 1 this weeks. Weighed at the shop on a Parktool scale at 9.4kg's without pedals.

Their isn't really that much difference in spec. The 2012 Carbon flash has the carbon lefty fork, which is great news in the weight of the front end!

Lower spec rear hub and spokes add approx 120grams overall to the wheelset.
    Handlebar +120grams
    Combination on the groupset would be less than 400grams?
    So lineball at 10kg flat!

mtbr member
    Wow that's pretty good given that I have race wheels(DT 240s hubs laced to Stan's Crest Rims) to go on it and I'll swap the handlebar for sure. So it should be closer to the Flash Carbon 1 when in race form. My superfly only ever got down to about 10.4kg. Hmmm...more enticing for sure.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I just ordered a Flash Carbon 2 as well, I don't think the fork is the carbon variety though. Hoping for around 21 lbs plus pedals. Quite a change for my 27lb FS 29er

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Flash Carbon 29er 2: 10kg
    Flash Carbon 29er 3: 10.4kg

New wheels on the Flash 3 drops it below 10kg and it's still cheaper than a Flash 2, at least in my part of the world.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Unfortunately, the Flash carbon 3 has a 2 month back order from Cannondale in Western US. Plus I like Arch rims, I run them on my Spearfish and really have had great luck. A solid all around wheelset.